Belgian Congo Flag

Belgian Congo

Home > Africa > Belgian Congo


Belgian Congo License Plates

(1) Greg Gibson/Picture by Jim Fox

Belgian Congo Map Congo is a name shared by two neighbouring countries in Central Africa, largely drained by the Congo River and usually distinguished by their full official names and occasionally by adding their capital cities:

The Republic of the Congo (ROC), also known as "Congo-Brazzaville" and locally as "Braza".

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC, DR Congo or "Congo-Kinshasa") is the larger of the two countries. It was once the personal property of King Leopold II of Belgium, when it was known as the "Congo Free State", and later a Belgian colony when it was renamed the "Belgian Congo" (1930's - 1960).

It was known as Zaire between 1971 and 1997.

In the 1960's, the countries were sometimes distinguished by referring to the Republic of Congo as "Congo" and to the Democratic Republic of the Congo as "The Congo".


Copyright Spacer